Thread: Krider's Red-tail or ?

Default Krider's Red-tail or ?

This hawk was at Lake Benbrook today. Bright pure white front with no spotting or stripes, some mottled white on back. One photo indicates some red on tail, but could be late afternoon lighting. Krider's was our best guess, but more experienced opinions are solicited.

Jerry and Diane Turner

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0285-Bird.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	34.2 KB 
ID:	2439 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0286-Bird.jpg 
Size:	42.8 KB 
ID:	2440 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0310-Bird.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	59.6 KB 
ID:	2441 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0330-Bird.jpg 
Size:	36.3 KB 
ID:	2442

Hi Jerry and Diane,
    I am by no means an expert.
    Looking at your photos I agree with you that this is a Krider's Red-tailed Hawk.
    I looked at several resources and found this link to a PDF paper at the American Birding Association. (click here to download)
    It is mentioned in the article there is a close resemblance to the light-morph Harlan's clean belly, but the Harlan's back is dark with no white in it. The author also compares the Southwestern RTHA.
    Look at their photos of several adult Krider's and juveniles. The article mentions that some Krider's will show a pinkish red in the tail.
    Nice find.
    Jim Jones
    Bedford, TX

Thanks Jim,

I don't know if it's there today, but it was at the lake both Sunday and Monday. It was in the same tree just past the entrance to the third turnout, behind the old model airplane hangers. Couldn't be missed as the white breast was practically glowing in the afternoon sun.

Jerry