Thread: Any thoughts

Default Any thoughts

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	LTSP Unknown1.jpg 
Views:	38 
Size:	88.0 KB 
ID:	2407
    While camping at Lake Tawakoni SP this weekend, I took a picture of what I thought at the time was a white-eyed vireo. After looking at the picture a little closer (read larger and with glasses) I am unsure of what I photographed at all.

I am brand new to birding and photography. Please forgive the poor quality picture.

Chris

Okay, it seems no one wants to take a shot at this so l will. The angle from below and behind is unfortunately common in my experience and makes things difficult. Also, I believe that the bird's coloration is not accurately rendered because of the bright light and green surroundings.
    I would like to see the bill more clearly but the bold eye ring stands out and I see no wing bars. The only bird I can think of is a Nashville Warbler. It appears to have a lighter throat and very plain face.
    I hope this elicits comments from someone with more experience than I have.
    Thanks, Chuck

Chuck,

Thanks so far. I appreciate the direction.

Chris

For the record, that's a Ruby-crowned Kinglet. I bet it was flitting all over the place. Giving details as to it's behavior, along with time and location, is always helpful in trying to identify a bird like this. The picture did make the ID difficult, and I would have agreed with Chuck had it not been for the white in the wings.

Warmest regards, Michael

Nice. It was flitting around making it difficult to get a picture of it. I have never identified one of those before. I'm slowly learning how to take in more clues rather than just identifying by sight.

I really appreciate the help. There is a really steep learning curve with birding. I had no idea how complex and almost addicting this new hobby would be.

I am grateful for this forum and those who share their knowledge.

Chris